Birthday Gift for Hubby

exerciseMy husband buys a lot of stuff for himself. Toys, gadgets, crap. He uses it for about a week and then it sits around or takes up space in the garage. Last night I asked what he wants for for his birthday and he says some video game machine Xbox Kinnect or whatever. This is how the conversation went:

Me: You’re not 15 anymore, you don’t need video games, and every time I ask you want you want you tell me some 300 dollar thing. I’m not buying you toys that you and the kids will fight over.

Him: Well just get that and I’ll be happy.

Me: What are you going to do with it?

Him: It’s so I can get in shape.

I started laughing hysterically. He was not amused.

Me: You don’t need a video game to get in shape. Go lift those weights thatare rusting in the corner, go ride the bike with cobwebs on it, swim some laps, dig out the badminton and paddle ball games you bought, or go play golf like you insisted you were going to do once a month.

He gets all fired up: You don’t understand, those things take hours! With this video game I can do it faster! I can jump and run and skip!

I started laughing hysterically again.

Me: You’re going to jump and run and skip in front of the tv?

Him: You don’t understand. It keeps score and measures you, and I’m a competitive person and when I’m doing good I’ll try to do better.

I couldn’t stop laughing while he kept insisting he needs a video game to get in shape.

Me: That’s the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard. I can see if you’re 75 but not at your age, go out and do things. I’m going to wrap your golf clubs up and regift them to you! What you have to realize is you’re saying this stuff to the same person you ranted to about how much you were going to play golf and use those weights, the only thing you use is the tv!

Him: You play video games, so why can’t I?

Me: What video games do I play?

Him: Scrabble.

Me: I play Scrabbleblast on the computer when I’m waiting for my nails to dry! Once a week for 5 minutes! What am I supposed to do while you’re playing video games?

He gave me a blank stare.

Me: What am I supposed to do while you’re hogging the house playing video games, go sit in the spare room like I do now when you’re watching tv? Or watch you?

Him: Well it’s not like I’m going to play for 20 hours.

Me: I know, you’ll play for 2 weeks then you’ll have a bunch of excuses as to why it’s not what you thought it would be and then it will sit in the bedroom and gather dust with the golf clubs.

I am NOT buying him a $300 video game machine. He’s getting his golf clubs re-wrapped!

2 thoughts on “Birthday Gift for Hubby

What do you have to say?